DuPage County is home to numerous institutions of higher education including College of DuPage, Elmhurst College, North Central College, and Wheaton College as well as satellite campuses for DePaul University, DeVry University, the Illinois Institute of Technology, National-Louis University, and Northern Illinois University. The large number of colleges in the area has resulted in a highly educated workforce. Nearly 42% of residents in DuPage County hold a bachelor’s degree or higher, significantly above the national average of 28%. Contributing to the labor force’s level of education is its proximity to the metro area’s plethora of learning institutions. All of the Chicago area’s leading public and private higher education establishments are located
within a one-hour drive from DuPage County, including DePaul University, Northwestern University, University of Chicago, and many others. The region benefits from Chicago’s top institutions of higher education, securing a steady stream of skilled, well-educated employees in the area.